A Quick Shout-out to a Good Example of Patient Education

So things have been super busy lately with school and thus my blog has fallen by the wayside, but worry not! I have many ideas for upcoming posts, but they probably won’t happen until after May 4 (which is when I have my final presentations).  Believe me, I’m counting down the days.

Anyways, I was just doing my pathophysiology reading about diabetes and thought I’d explore the interwebs to see if there was a good, user friendly site out there to find out one’s risks for acquiring type 2 diabetes.  Indeed I found a really good website that I’d like to share as a good example of effective patient education, since that’s something that I may be going into after graduation. Who knows? Its the Stop Diabetes website sponsored by the American Diabetes Association.  At the top of the page is a link for a very quick, very easy test that requires no signing up or submitting of any information (that never happens!) and is put together in a very user friendly way.  Its free information for the sake of being helpfully informative! Now that’s something you don’t see very often.

p.s. I’m not sure if the campaign is just going until April 22 or if it will be up for longer. If it does shut down in 2 days, I apologize.

Leave a Reply

