GPCRs: Transactivation

Hello all! I have found myself in possession of the elusive ‘free time’ so decided to post an update! Here is illustration for a project where the only requirement was to use the subject matter of G Protein-Coupled Receptors (GPCRs) also known as seven-transmemebrane receptors.  These are an important class of signalling proteins that are the subject of much study right now because the more we know about them, the more the possibility that we can begin to target them with new medicines.

While reading about some of the new research that is being done on GPCRs in “The Year In G Protein-Coupled Receptor Research” by Millat and Newton, I found one section about GPCR transactivation that was really interesting.  Apparently a new study discovered that when two different types of damaged LH receptors are present in the same organism, they somehow continue to function because one activates the other and receptor signalling is restored. This is what I decided to illustrate here.

I played around a little with this one and ended up first creating it in Illustrator, then taking it over the Photoshop for some touch ups and texturing.  I think it ended up looking like it could belong in a story book, which I think is cool and different.  Perhaps someday I will illustrate a children’s book of protein function!

2 thoughts on “GPCRs: Transactivation

  1. I really like this. I know it is an older posting but you should do more of these. Sometimes working with something more tangent with your etherial science is very settling and relaxing. I am making a huge stain glass window of an ion transporter now. Keep it up

Leave a Reply

