Spotlight: Michael Reedy

I came across the wonderful drawing and paintings of Michael Reedy and just had to share.  From what I gather, he is currently a professor at Eastern Michigan University.  Here is his artist statement:

In my most recent works I have begun to explore visual complexity and ornamentation in conjunction with my prior interests; which have long been rooted in contemporary trends in figurative and portrait based works, as well as fringe images of the body, either in medical illustration or cartoons. I believe this push towards excess propels the figures in to another space and permits the psychological possibilities or fantasies of the figures (or those embedded in the narrative) to operates outside of normal spatial conventions, and in short become uncanny. In some respects my goal has been to make each new image more beautiful and self-indulgent than the last.

I guess what interests me about his work, besides his amazing technique of course, is his innovative new ways to show anatomy and his combination of a modern take on medical illustration mixed with older more traditional elements.  His website is http://mikereedy.com/ where you can see more of his work, which I highly recommend.  He also shows several unfinished paintings in his gallery that I can’t wait to see completed!

Reedy's "Don't Worry Baby"

Reedy's "Every Last One"

Reedy's "Once Removed"

Reedy's "69, Possibly 80"

2 thoughts on “Spotlight: Michael Reedy

Leave a comment